Today: 06/12/2023 18:40:56 (GMT+7)

Two university professors to receive 2021 Kovalevskaya Award

The 2021 Kovalevskaya Award will be given to two Vietnamese university professors in recognition of their outstanding research achievements and great contribution to the national development, the award committee has announced.

The awardees are Prof., Dr. Nguyen Thi Thanh Mai, Vice President of the University of Science at the Vietnam National University Ho Chi Minh City (VNUHCM); and Prof., Dr. and Meritorious Teacher Nguyen Minh Thuy from the Department of Food Technology, College of Agriculture, Can Tho University.

Two university professors, 2021 Kovalevskaya Award,  outstanding research achievements, great contribution, national development

Professor Nguyen Thi Thanh Mai (L) and Professor Nguyen Minh Thuy (R).

Mai, from the south-central province of Quang Ngai, graduated from the University of Science, VNUHCM with a Bachelor’s and Master’s Degree in Analytical Chemistry; and earned a PhD in Pharmaceutical at Japan’s Toyama University. The 50-year-old lecturer was awarded the professor title in 2020.

She has led 14 ministerial and provincial-level research projects, with one of the most outstanding ones on extracting active substances from plants for the development of new drugs for diabetes, gout and melasma.

She was awarded with Ho Chi Minh City Creative Awards in 2019.

Thuy, from the Mekong Delta province of An Giang, graduated from Thailand’s Asian Institute of Technology (AIT) with a Master’s Degree in Post-harvest Technology in 1992 and earned a PhD in Food Technology at KU Leuven (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven) in Belgium in 2007.

She was honoured with the professor title in food technology in 2020. Her research has focused on addressing issues in distribution of agricultural products and provision of support for farmers and agribusinesses hit by natural disasters, fire and epidemics.

The Kovalevskaya Award ceremony is scheduled to be held in Hanoi this May. Three female high school students will also receive Kovalevskaya scholarships, worth 500 USD each, during the event.

The Kovalevskaya Award is named after Russian mathematician Sofia Kovalevskaya, and is awarded by the fund of the same name. The fund operates in eight countries in Latin America, Africa and Asia.

The award was first given to Vietnamese female academics in 1985. By 2020, 49 individuals and 20 groups of female scientists had received the award.

Bac Giang students win first prize at National Science and Technology Contest
(BGO) – Two projects of Bac Giang students won prize at online National Science and Technology Contest for high school students in academic year 2021 – 2022 (Contest) which was held online by the Ministry of Education and Training from March 25 – 27.
Minister of Science and Technology works with leaders of Bac Giang province
(BGO) - A delegation from the Ministry of Science and Technology led by its Minister Huynh Thanh Dat had a working session with the Standing Board of the Bac Giang provincial Party Committee on March 17.
Bac Giang focuses resources on science-technology and innovation
(BGO) - In the process of development and integration, Bac Giang identifies science-technology and innovation as a breakthrough to improve productivity, quality and competitiveness of goods. From vivid reality, science-technology and innovation continue to be seen as the leading driving force for Bac Giang's rapid and sustainable development.
Vietnamese students win four golds and two silvers at Junior Science Olympiad
Vietnamese students won four gold and two silver medals at the 18th International Junior Science Olympiad (IJSO), which were held in the UAE from December 12-22.
Vietnamese scientist in Australia honoured with science-technology prize
Dr. Nguyen Trong Hieu, a senior lecturer in the solar cell major at the Australia National University (ANU), has been honoured with a science-technology prize in the field of new material technology presented by the Ho Chi Minh Communist Youth Union Central Committee and the Vietnamese Ministry of Science and Technology.

Source: NDO/VNA

Two university professors, 2021 Kovalevskaya Award, outstanding research achievements, great contribution, national development
New comment has just been added. Click here
Sort:NewBest News